Discussion Board:
Bulletin Boards > A day in the life of.... > 2 Years Since Graduating and still no clients
Posted By:
Posted By:Curl-upndye on: 7/11/2008 1:48:25 PM

Display:
Author: Thread: 2 Years Since Graduating and still no clients
Curl-upndye

2 Years Since Graduating and still no clients
Posted: Friday, July 11, 2008 1:48:25 PM
This is my first time posting. I'm at the end of my rope and I feel like I'm headed for a deep depression. I started school a little bit later than most in my mid 20s. I did really well in school in both theory and application. I started working as an assistant in the salon I worked for as a receptionist. I've been on the business side of salons for the past 10 years. I know how to do payroll, ordering, retailing, customer service, etc. So getting my license was the icing on the cake. Well... none of the hairdressers I worked with hardly let me shampoo their clients preferring other assistants. After 6 months someone finally let me apply a toner at the sink. In the meantime I felt like the only thing I was learning was how to sweep and do laundry. So everything I learned in school started to fade. I feel like everything that I was good at and should be getting better at was getting worse. I tried talking to the manager and she assured me to be patient. I knew it was going to be hard the first year so I didn't really question it, but I really started to hate being an assistant. Frankly, it was the worst job I've ever had in my life. I was no more than a cleaning lady. Then my manager started commuting out of state and spent less and less time at the salon. After about a year, I had my own station but very few clients. She hired 2 more people without clients assuring me that I was there first so I would have priority of new clients. At my 2nd year there they have more clients than me and I can count how many repeat clients I have on 1 hand. I maybe get 1 new client every 3 weeks or so. I feel like my haircuts are not improving at all c