Bulletin Boards > A day in the life of.... > I need ADVICE< PLEASE
Posted By:
Posted By:hapapinay on: 8/11/2008 6:25:17 PM

Display:
Author: Thread: I need ADVICE< PLEASE
hapapinay

I need ADVICE< PLEASE
Posted: Monday, August 11, 2008 6:25:17 PM
I have been working at a good friend of my familiy's  salon for almost two years now. This is the first place I have worked after I got my license, and I feel like I am on a sinking ship. I dont want to hurt the owners feelings but I just cannot take the atmosphere anymore. There are so many problems with the salon that I get so overwelmed and stressed out. I am on commission (60%)  which is alot to some but not really if haircuts start at $12 and color starts at $35.  I feel lucky to be trusted with clients and being able to work how I want, but I'm having such a hard time retaining clients. ( I feel like they don't take me seriously because of the decor/ location/ atmosphere/ and prices) I have a small following of clients which help keep my head above water and most of my bills paid but my future seems to be getting darker every month that passes.  I live about 40 mins away from downtown Los Angeles. I looked up all sorts of assistant postions available and for now all I can do is dream.  I know it would be worth the time and effort to be an assistant under a respected stylist but I'm scared to make the move.  My friend works at a Fantastic Sams and makes okay money (good area, good clients) but I'm so scared of chain salons and not being able to style and take my time perfecting the clients salon experience. PLEASE ANY ADVICE NEEDED, thanks in advance

hapapinay

update
Posted: Wednesday, August 20, 2008 3:01:00 PM