Bulletin Boards > A day in the life of.... > My First Hair Job
Posted By:
Posted By:aussie10024 on: 2/25/2011 12:37:09 PM

Display:
Author: Thread: My First Hair Job
aussie10024

My First Hair Job
Posted: Friday, February 25, 2011 12:37:09 PM
Here is the story about my first hair job. I plan to blog at http://myfirsthairjob.blogspot.com/

I graduated from hair school in December and got my temporary hair license a couple of weeks ago. Finally. It takes forever for the State of New York to do anything. Hard to believe that they need six weeks to cash a check and mail out a piece of paper. Yes, it's an automatic process.

Getting a hair license in New York is fairly simple--but time consuming. You need to spend 1000 hours at cosmetology school studying hair, skin, nails and after you know the theory, practice on customers. When you: "Do your time," you get a certificate and some papers that you send to the Department of State with $20. They then send you a temporary license which lets you start work while you wait to do the written and practical tests.

This this process is automatic, and is designed to get you into the workforce while you wait to complete the tests you'd think this would be fairly quick. Hard to believe that it takes six weeks--and you can't work while you wait. Anyhow, my license arrived and I was invited to do the written test in six days. SIX DAYS! Like I'm ready.