Discussion Board:
Bulletin Boards > A day in the life of.... > Afraid of graduating from school.
Posted By:
Posted By:cutting4kicks on: 1/29/2006 6:04:16 PM

Display:
Author: Thread: Afraid of graduating from school.
cutting4kicks

Afraid of graduating from school.
Posted: Sunday, January 29, 2006 6:04:16 PM

stylist13

don't worry
Posted: Friday, February 03, 2006 11:24:43 PM
everyone feels this way, and you'll get through it with some scary moments. Remember everyone is always learning and none of us is perfect. I went to Paul Mitchell and it gave me skills that all of my employers have been impressed with. Are you planning to assist for awhile? that is the best way to get past this fear.... and feel comfortable. good luck!

Tayalynn
Bronze Member

Posted: Wednesday, March 01, 2006 2:32:52 AM
The only thing you have to fear is fear itself! I felt the same way when I got out of school and it is different in the real world. Since I was an older student I did not want to assist. My goal was to continue studying on my own and do as many heads as I possible could. I started out in a family chain salon and quite frankly I never thought the money would be that good for a beginner. I have been there almost a year and am now confident enough to move on to a more upscale salon. I would say in the year that I worked at the chain salon I did about 1,200 heads. This gave me the practice and encouragement I needed.
So don't worry. Everyone has to start somewhere. Just decide where you want to go and don't worry about being fast. Take your time and worry about doing it correctly instead. Speed and confidence will come in time.
Taya

xsoundgrlx

don't be afraid
Posted: Thursday, March 02, 2006 8:26:51 PM