Bulletin Boards > A day in the life of.... > New salon and bad luck already
Posted By:
Posted By:fabhair on: 9/4/2006 11:25:29 PM

Display:
Author: Thread: New salon and bad luck already
fabhair

New salon and bad luck already
Posted: Monday, September 04, 2006 11:25:29 PM

After ten years as a stylist I've just opened my own salon. Its been open  6 months and already I've had a lousy landlord who wont fix things the right way, unmotivated stylists and just this weekend my window has been busted out!!! I was soo excited at first and now I'm already closed to calling it quits. It it just the beginning that is the hardest or what? I can't seem to get anyone interested in continued education although at the beginning they were or at least said  they were. I have so much passion and  want everyone at my salon to share the benefits of a great career. I have bought my ticket to Redken Symposium in hoped of boosting my morale back up to what it should be..Help..any advise for a new owner with a streak of bad luck?

trendy02

hello
Posted: Tuesday, September 05, 2006 4:02:46 PM

Breathe and take it one day at a time!  Focus that it will get better it is just going to take a while.  And don't expect to keep the stylists you start with.  People are not always what they seem to be.  I have been going through this for over a year now with money issues, clientele issues, and employee issues from day one.  The one day at a time thing is the best cause looking too far in the future can be disappointing at times.  I wish you the best of luck!

By the way my salon will be at symposium this year too.  My stylist isn't excited but I am forcing her to be!

spfldstyler

My first year
Posted: Monday, January 01, 2007 1:44:52 PM