Discussion Board:
Bulletin Boards > A day in the life of.... > strange smell after perm?
Posted By:
Posted By:chelseamsu on: 11/12/2007 2:53:55 PM

Display:
Author: Thread: strange smell after perm?
chelseamsu

strange smell after perm?
Posted: Monday, November 12, 2007 2:53:55 PM

I just had a client call me today that had a perm done 2 weeks ago.  She said that #1 the perm didn't hold real well, and #2 there's a strange smell that she hasn't been able to get rid of since the perm.  she's an older client that has had plenty of perms before and she says it's not a perm smell, it's bad.  I used an ISO perm, which I've been using for 6 years and i swear by them.  She said that the perm started right away and after a few washes it has gotten a little better, but gets worse when she sweats, that wouldn't be caused by a perm would it? She also said that it didn't hold very well, but also said that she put vinegar on her head to get rid of the smell. I'm sure that didn't help how well it held. 

This was the first time seeing this client at my shop I just opened.  I always take redo's hard and I'm redoing her hair on Friday.  I'm going to use a stronger ISO perm. The mistake I"m really thinking I made is that I only wet her hair down before the perm, not washed it, and she said she had a lot of product in it. I"m really kicking myself for not washing it now. It jsut looked like she had dry scalp and I didn't want to aggitate it too much. Coudl the perm have reacted to a product in her hair?

pokepres

Posted: Monday, November 12, 2007 4:32:09 PM
did you use a different size rod than last time? Sounds like you need to go down a size. I couldnt imagine that the product in her hair could have affected it TOO much, the perm should have just eaten thru...but i guess anything is possible, sounds strange to me though

chelseamsu

Posted: Monday, November 12, 2007 9:20:21 PM