Bulletin Boards > A day in the life of.... > Dealing with Mothers as Clients
Posted By:
Posted By:fashionista on: 1/31/2008 7:24:16 AM

Display:
Author: Thread: Dealing with Mothers as Clients
fashionista

Dealing with Mothers as Clients
Posted: Thursday, January 31, 2008 7:24:16 AM
I've been doing hair for over 5 years, I put myself through beauty school, with no help whatsoever from my mother.  I have a VERY demanding, and annoying mother.  She will call me at the last minute demanding that I do her hair (in an hour, or in 2 hours).  She expects me to clear my schedule for her since she is my mom.  She won't pay more than $5 or $10 for 2 or more hours of my service (usually cut and color)..... so I'm out atleast $10-15!  Last time she was an hour and fifteen minutes late when I called her and asked her what was going on.  She was VERY defensive and said "as a paying customer, you should not treat me this way."  I said "my PAYING customers usualy have the courtesy to show up on time!"  I'm about to tell her I can't accomodate her anymore.  Does anyone else have this problem? What do I do??

Gary

Mother
Posted: Friday, February 01, 2008 12:42:09 AM
I think you should write Dear Abbey.

lakahna

Posted: Friday, February 01, 2008 12:42:30 PM

Sounds like she's taking advantage.

You need to tell her that when you do her hair, its a client relationship and not family. and if he runs late, she will need to reschedule because you have other clients who you need to take care of who does show up on time.

popgyrl
Bronze Member

Posted: Friday, February 01, 2008 10:02:34 PM

My mother was always a tough case for me. We once went on vacation together (my first vacation in years) and she asked me to give her a blow out on the first night!