Discussion Board:
Bulletin Boards > A day in the life of.... > accommodating short stylists...
Posted By:
Posted By:madk on: 1/31/2008 10:16:32 AM

Display:
Author: Thread: accommodating short stylists...
madk

accommodating short stylists...
Posted: Thursday, January 31, 2008 10:16:32 AM
I am new to this profession and am feeling like I'm handicapped. I am 5 ft. tall, and even with heels and the chair at it's lowest level, need a step stool to do highlights on top of someone's head or the top of a men's cut. Does anyone else have this problem?
My salon used to have a shorter base for my chair before we were remodeled, but now there is no shorter base for the new chairs and it's driving me crazy. I've asked my manager numerous times if there's a way to get a shorter chair.
I really feel handicapped in this industry because now I realize the standard chair size is too tall for me.
Using a step stool looks really unproffessional to me, not to mention dangerous. One day I'm going to injure myself standing on that stupid thing.
Is there anything I can do?

xxhairdivaxx
Bronze Member

Posted: Thursday, January 31, 2008 6:25:12 PM
Hi, I feel your pain.  Ask your manager would it be alright if you could sit on a barstool while applying color on the top of your clients head.  That seems to be the only solution.  Good luck

Gary

simple solution
Posted: Friday, February 01, 2008 12:37:56 AM

I've been in a stylist for 15 years and I learned something a long time ago.....make your work as easy as possible.

If a client is too tall for you to work on simply ask them to slouch in the chair. It's that simple. If you need them to move their head one way or the other, move it that way....that's why we have necks. Hope this helps.

PaigeLewis

Posted: Monday, February 04, 2008 4:50:18 PM