Discussion Board:
Bulletin Boards > A day in the life of.... > Reconsidering my career!
Posted By:
Posted By:stephanie021675 on: 1/31/2008 6:43:27 PM

Display:
Author: Thread: Reconsidering my career!
stephanie021675

Reconsidering my career!
Posted: Thursday, January 31, 2008 6:43:27 PM

I am extremely new to this profession..........4 months out of school and I really don't know if I've made the right decision when it comes to my career.  I've always wanted and loved doing hair and now that I am I feel that I'm not good at it!

First of all I don't feel like I got the proper training and second I really don't think I'm in the right salon.  I wanted to be a hairstylist because I love doing hair not to make money for a billion dollar company.  The salon I work for is more interested in the quantity of clients you get in your chair and not the quality of  the haircut.  I don't even section hair anymore!!  How can you do a decent cut without sectioning.............YOU CAN'T!  I feel like I'm becoming a "lazy hairdresser"...............you want a $15 haircut, you're getting a $15 haircut!  My services aren't up to par with the other stylists, I mean some of them have been doing it for years I know and I it's going to take time for be to perfect my skills, but what happens when you feel like you don't have any skills?  I don't feel like my cuts are "finished".....do you know what I mean?  it seems like I stop cutting too soon but at the same time I feel like I've cut too much.  I'm so confused.  This isn't what I pictured my career to be.........and yes I know I've only been out of school for 4 months and I know it's going to take time but I just can't see the light at the end of the tunnel.